Winter Beauty Essentials

2014-01-19_23-50-51

Winter is my least favorite time of year, at least when it comes to my beauty routine. Cold temperatures plus dry heat can lead to chapped lips, dull complexion, and frizzy hair. Thankfully, though, I’ve come to rely on a few essential products to keep me looking fresh while I tackle the elements:

Hair: Paul Mitchell Super Skinny Serum/ Josie Maran Argan Oil

When you have fine hair like myself, static cling is a major problem during the colder months.  The combination of cold temps and low humidity add extra electricity to my hair, resulting in one hot mess. I use Paul Mitchell Super Skinny Serum to tame fly aways and keep my hair smooth.  I’m also a huge of fan of Moroccan Argan Oil. It is great year round and keeps my hair hydrated to avoid any extra static cling.

Face: Bare Minerals Prime Time/ Clinique Moisturizing Lotion

Not only does cold weather cause my hair to go haywire, but it wreaks havoc on my skin. I have normal to dry skin, so when it’s cold out, my skin tends to be on the drier side. It’s important to stay extra moisturized during winter, so I use a combination of primer and lotion to keep it moist without being too oily. The primer keeps my makeup on all day, while the lotion keeps it from drying out.

Lips: Mally Gentle Lip Scrub/ Maybelline Baby Lips in Pink Punch

No matter how much water I drink my lips always managed to get chapped at some point during the season. To combat dry, flaky lips, I use Mally Gentle Lip Scrub before applying any type of lipstick. This stuff preps your lips and gets rid of all the flakes so your lipstick can glide on smooth. I also use Maybelline Baby Lips to keep my lips moist. It’s a tinted chapstick, so I can still have some color on my lips.

Nails: Essie Apricot Cuticle Oil/ Burt’s Bees Lemon Butter Cuticle Cream

Just like my skin, my cuticles always dry up when it’s cold. Before a manicure, I always soak my nails in Essie Apricot Cuticle Oil to replenish and rehydrate my cuticles. Plus, the apricot scent smells delicious. If I’m short on time, I rub some Burt’s Bees Lemon Butter Cuticle Cream on them. This stuff is not as messy as the cuticle oil, but moisturizes like a lotion. I keep it in my purse at all times.

Leave a Reply

