Pumpkin Chili

Pumpkin Chili

My company’s annual chili cook off and beer pairing is just days away and in preparation for the competition, I’ve been working on the perfect chili recipe. My coworkers are bringing traditional options like beef chili, veggie chili, and someone is even bringing chili from Wendy’s, but I really wanted my chili to reflect the season, so when I came across 50 Things to Make with Canned Pumpkin from the October edition of Food Network Magazine, I knew I had found my niche. What better way to welcome Fall than with pumpkin chili paired with your favorite pumpkin ale? I couldn’t think of anything more festive! I made my first batch last night and it was too good not to share. The pumpkin adds a slight nuttiness without being too overpowering, but it’s the use of chipotle peppers that give the chili its smoky flavor. I also added some hot chili powder to give it a little extra kick  which really brought everything together, not to mention it was ready in under an hour. Just add your favorite toppings, a pumpkin beer and you’ve got the perfect Fall dinner ready to go!  As Ina Garten would say, “How easy is that?”  Now I just have to think of a name for it before Friday. Any suggestions?

Pumpkin Chili 2

IMG_1000

Pumpkin Chili 4

Pumpkin Chili 3Pumpkin Chili 5

pumpkin 6

IMG_1014

IMG_1017

Ingredients:

1 ½ pounds ground beef

1 onion, chopped

1 green bell pepper, chopped

1 can of pumpkin

1 can of diced fire-roasted tomatoes

1 can of black beans, drained

2 TBSPN Hot Chili Powder

2 TBSPN Adobe Sauce from a can of Chipotle Peppers

Directions:

  1. Brown ground beef, onion and pepper in oil.
  2. Once browned, add pumpkin, tomatoes, and black beans.
  3. Stir in chili powder and adobo sauce.
  4. Simmer for 30-40 minutes.
  5. Serve with your favorite toppings and a pumpkin beer!
3 thoughts on “Pumpkin Chili

Leave a Reply

