Snack Time

photo

I have always taken snack time pretty seriously. I usually don’t eat large meals all at once, but am constantly snacking during the day. Recently, my job  implemented a Wellness Incentive Program which has forced me to switch up my snack routine. Instead of my afternoon bag of potato chips, I now grab a granola bar or a bag of trail mix. Eating healthy isn’t always easy, so instead of having a junk food drawer, I created a health food drawer. It’s well stocked with all my favorite healthy snacks so I don’t find myself heading to the vending machine for a delicious fattening bag of cookies. I put together this list of my favorite, go-to healthy snacks. You can snack all day without worrying about extra calories.

2013-07-11_19-07-26

1. Kashi Granola Bars– Kashi makes so many great granola bar flavors. I personally like the dark chocolate with coconut. It’s sweet like a candy bar, but will fill you up without the added calories.

2. Market Pantry Dry Fruit Mix– This a great alternative to fresh fruit. It won’t go bad like fresh fruit and you can easily store it in your desk drawer.

3. Celery Sticks with Trader Joe’s Almond Butter– I love Trader Joe’s Almond Butter! I can eat it on anything from crackers to bread. I like to spread it on celery sticks. They are healthier than crackers.

4. Planter’s Nut Mix Packs-These little packs are perfect to throw in your purse. They are low in fat and provide you with extra energy.

5. Chobani Champions Greek Yogurt– Greek yogurt is higher in protein than regular, so it will make you fuller faster. These 100-calorie packs are a great morning snack. Very Berry is my favorite flavor.

6. Sabra Roasted Red Pepper Hummus Cups– These hummus cups come with pretzel chips for dipping. They have various flavors and can be stored at room temperature. Roasted Red Pepper is my personal favorite.

7. Popcorn-Believe it or not, when NOT drenched in butter, popcorn is actually a healthy snack. It’s low in calories and fat. I buy the fat-free, single bags and snack on this every afternoon.

 

 

 

 

**Disclaimer: I am not a registered dietitian or doctor. All of these opinions are my own. Please consult your doctor before changing your diet.

One thought on “Snack Time

Leave a Reply

