Summer Reading List

photo

I’ve always been somewhat of a bookworm. Read All Day (RAD) was always my favorite day in elementary school, I probably read the book before it became a movie, and I read the entire Twilight Saga (don’t judge me) in two days over my Thanksgiving break in college. I usually try to read at least 3 books a month, but sometimes that is hard to do when you have a busy schedule. Now that it’s Summer and I have some extra free time, I’m looking forward to catching up on some reading. It’s always nice to enjoy a good book while basking in the sun by the pool. I put together a Summer Reading List, which I hope to complete by Labor Day. I’m always looking for recommendations, so if you have any feel free to comment below. What is on your Summer Reading List?

Lean in: Women, Work and the Will to Lead

I recently watched an interview with Sheryl Sandberg, the COO of Facebook, on 60 Minutes that inspired me to read her book. She has accomplished so much throughout her career and is now encouraging women to take more risks in the workplace to achieve higher salaries. This will definitely be an inspirational read.

A Game of Thrones

This is my first choice for a summer read. I know so many people that are obsessed with this TV-Fantasy (I have never watched an episode), so I decided to read the books before I hop on the GOT bandwagon.

Fifty Shades Darker

I LOVED, LOVED, LOVED Fifty Shades of Grey, but never got around to finishing the trilogy. I guess now is a good time to start.

The Happiness Project: Or, Why I Spent a Year Trying to Sing in the Morning, Clean My Closets, Fight Right, Read Aristotle, and Generally Have More Fun

After watching the documentary Happy, I tried to take my own steps to be happier on a daily basis. This book follows one woman on her quest to find happiness and the changes she makes along the way. My own quest involves spending more time with my cats, doing at least 3 good deeds a week and exercising more.

Reconstructing Amelia

I love a good thriller and couldn’t put down Gone Girl. This book is said to be a mix between Gossip Girl and Gone Girl, so it must make for a gripping novel.

 

 

 

*Image Credit

Leave a Reply

