Watermelon Feta Salad

IMG_0753

I’ve documented my love for Summer’s fresh produce before (here), but after making these popsicles, I’ve been searching for ways to add more watermelon to my diet. One of my favorite restaurants in Atlanta, Two Urban Licks, features a Watermelon Salad on their menu. I’ve had it once before- crispy watercress, juicy watermelon, fresh mozzarella, drizzled with an almond mint pesto, it is the perfect summertime dish. I decided to recreate my own variation of this salad using spring mix instead of watercress and feta in place of the mozzarella. I tossed it in a simple citrus vinaigrette and voila-a light and healthy lunch! With less than five ingredients, I know this is something I will make all Summer long.

For the Vinaigrette: 

Juice of 1 orange
Juice of 2 lemons
1/4 cup minced shallots
1 tablespoon honey
1/2 cup olive oil
1 teaspoon kosher salt
1/2 teaspoon freshly ground black pepper

For the Salad:

6 cups of Spring Mix
1/8th seedless watermelon, rind removed, and cut in 1-inch cubes
12 ounces crumbled  feta cheese

Directions

Whisk together the orange juice, lemon juice, shallots, honey, salt, and pepper. Slowly pour in the olive oil, whisking constantly.

Place the spring mix, watermelon, and feta in a large bowl. Drizzle with enough vinaigrette to coat the greens lightly and toss well. Serve immediately.

IMG_0727

IMG_0734

IMG_0740

IMG_0739

IMG_0748

IMG_0750

Leave a Reply

