Gone Fishin’

IMG_0581Yesterday, my dad celebrated his 59th birthday (yikes)! Where has the time gone? Some of my fondest childhood memories involve fishing in the backyard with my dad. Our house in South Florida had a canal in the back and every afternoon my dad and I would go out and cast a line. I’m pretty sure I learned how to fish before I learned how to swim. So when I came across these “Gone Fishin” themed cupcakes on Pinterest, I knew I had to make them in honor of my dad’s favorite pastime. I used this classic vanilla cupcake recipe, topped it with my favorite cream cheese frosting, then added pretzels for the rods and some swedish fish. They couldn’t have turned out more perfect! Served with an ice cold beer, it was almost like we were back in South Florida, sitting on the dock, waiting for our next big bite!

{My dad, brother and I circa 1995 showing off our latest catch}

IMG_0933

IMG_0590

IMG_0586

IMG_0592

IMG_0597

2 thoughts on “Gone Fishin’

Leave a Reply

