Green Ombre Cake

IMG_0401

It’s almost St. Patrick’s Day and if you are dating an Irishman, like myself, you take this holiday pretty seriously. On Friday, we are headed to Savannah to partake in one of the largest St. Patrick’s Day parties in the U.S. I decided to kickstart the festivities a little early with my green ombre cake. I used a box mix of white cake to ensure consistency throughout but frosted it with my homemade vanilla buttercream. A good buttercream can always mask anything store bought. I achieved the green ombre look by adding green food coloring to my cake mix. Add more for a darker hue and less for a lighter one. I recently purchased the green and white sprinkles from HomeGoods and they were the perfect detail to compliment the green layers. Serve with an Irish coffee and enjoy!

IMG_0381

IMG_0397

IMG_0412

IMG_0418

IMG_0421

Leave a Reply

